Mountainside Meetups

Mountainside Meetups are evening sessions hosted by CAWM. They are intended for anyone interested in the topic to attend, learn, and interact with each other to build the community of wilderness medicine enthusiasts. Topics revolve around wilderness medicine in austere environments but may be on any topic.

See What Mountainside Meetups Are About

Review of Zoll Autopulse vs Manual CPR use in the Kananaskis Region

Mike Koppang - 6 May 2021

Medical Misadventures - When the Patient is... You

Mika Hemphill - 19 Jul 2021
CAWM members have access to all previous mountainside meetups in the CAWM Video Library.
Video Library

Upcoming Meetups

CAWM Members receive free access to Mountainside Meetups. Please Log in to register at no charge.
There are no upcoming events at this time.

Creating a Canadian Frostbite Care Network

November 25, 2021 - 5:00 PM PST | 6:00 PM MST | 7:00 PM CST | 8:00 PM EST

Frostbite care in Canada is variable and evidence for current treatments is limited. Initial results of the Canadian Frostbite Collaborative project survey demonstrate an interest and need for standardization of frostbite care in Canada and the development of a national network to inform best practices, education and research in frostbite care. Participants are invited to discuss the future of frostbite care in Canada and development of a national frostbite care network.

Presenters:
The Canadian Frostbite Collaborative is a research team led by Dr Cait Champion (MD MSc FRCSC CIP), Dr Alex Poole (MD FRCSC FACS DiMM), and Josianne Gauthier.(BPh, MPharm).  The research team also includes Dr Sarvesh Logsetty (MD FRCSC FACS), Malcolm Davidson (MD Candidate), Dr Delphine Hansen-Jaumard (MD), Sebastien Hebert (MD Candidate), Lauren Klammer (MD Candidate), Mary Ollier (MD Candidate), and Rachel Peet (MD Candidate).  Work of the Collaborative is supported by Dr Lisa Allen (PhD) and Nathan Johnstone, as well as qualitative researcher Dr Jenna Smyth-Turchyn (PT, PhD).  The team came together with the goal of understanding frostbite patient care needs and current practices in Canada to inform national quality improvement in frostbite care and has been gaining momentum since they started in 2020.  Their work is supported by a grant from the Northern Ontario Academic Medicine Association (NOAMA).
Register
View Event

Registration

Mountainside Meetups are available for free to Members of CAWM, and available for a small fee if you’re not a member
Register for a Session

Become a Member

All members are entitled to free access to Mountainside Meetups. Become a member for free access to all future Mountainside Meet Ups and the video library of all past events.
Member Benefits
Sign Up

Have Questions?

For more information or to get involved, please Contact Us.